Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Combustible paper revolvers cartridges

Region:
    Allegheny - Maryland, Pennsylvania, West Virginia and Virginia

Combustible paper revolvers cartridges

Hi
    I am new to N-SSA skirmishing but not revolver shooting. I have been playing with these made from cigarette paper using a flat nose lead bullet in my 36's. Not happy with the accuracy but I was wondering if any of you use them using round balls? Was going to try some with round balls and nitrated paper in my1851 and see if I get better results
    Last edited by jaxenro; 10-16-2013 at 07:24 PM. Reason: Spelling

Team:
    5th Virginia Volunteer Infantry
    11214V
    Region:
    Potomac - Virginia, Maryland and Delaware
    N-SSA rules prohibit paper cartridges.

Region:

Interesting seems they would be the most authentic accuracy seems to suffer for me with them though

Team:
    Genl Wm T Sherman's Bodyguard
    Region:
    Midwest - Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana
    have you tried using the mold that lee makes for making revolver combustible cartridges? I have used them and they worked good. For paper I used onion paper. Did not need to be nitrated and everything burnt up upon firing

Team:
    110th Ohio Voluneer Infantry
    Region:
    N-SSA prohibits paper preloads for various safety reasons. I'd actually like to try nitrated rounds, however, for practice in the off-season-- I have limited time to shoot, and would save a good bit of range time with wrapped cartridges. I have a lot more time to fiddle around at home than I do to run off to the range.

That said, have you checked your barrel dia. vs. bullet diameter? My R&S .44 shaves rings off a .457 roundball but really likes that oversized round. The manual for my .36 Lyman Remington (still unfired, dammmit!) recommends a .375 roundball. It actually came in the box with a .375 mould. Gonna try that thing out this winter...