Thread: Muzzleloading Safety Question

Team:
    Visitor (non-N-SSA Member)
    NA
    Region:
    Chesapeake - Maryland, Virginia, Pennsylvania and Ohio

Muzzleloading Safety Question

I am new to muzzleloading. Please inform me of how I am supposed to keep my hands out of line of fire when using the ramrod...I have a ball setter and know the rule about finger/thumb with placing the ball in the barrel, so that's good. But I cannot figure out how to keep fist clear of line of fire when pushing ramrod home. I need one hand to hold the gun, and the other requires some moderate force to ram the rod home (it's a Brunswick rifle). Thank you for your advice.

Region:
    Potomac - Virginia, Maryland and Delaware
    The rules we have developed for N-SSA are centric to the types of guns and ammunition we load i.e. Minnie ball and unpatched roundball. These bullets by definition must practically fall down the barrel by themselves. We therefore do not use or need a starter. We are also engaged in rapid fire where there is not time for a cleaning patch or waiting period between shots. Occasionally we do have to use more force to get the ball down the barrel due to fowling but we still do not put our hand over the end of the ram rod, you just have to develop a technique that gets the job done safely. We all do it so it can be done. Sometimes we cannot get the ball down the barrel, in that case, we have to blow the charge and bullet out with air or go the flood and pull method.
    Scott Kurki
    The Dulany Troop, 6th Virginia Cavalry

Team:
    Genl Wm T Sherman's Bodyguard
    Region:
    Midwest - Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana
    Indeed. When slow firing at your own range for practice, you can swab the bore between shots and ensure that no smoldering ember remains, or otherwise wait long enough to be sure. We're doing rapid fire.