Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can lube go bad?

Team:
    Genl Wm T Sherman's Bodyguard
    Region:
    Midwest - Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana

Can lube go bad?

I have this lube I have been using for about 2 years now and it has worked great. Well I have been taking my sharps to shoot over the past few days and for the first time I have been noticing a very hard fouling about 4" back from the muzzle and it continues all the way up. I have changed noting. Same lead lube and all that good stuff. Accuracy does some to suffer dramaticaly after 7 or 10 shots and I really have to give it a good cleaning to bring it back. Scrub scrub scrub with a wire brish and all kinds of black crud comes out the barrel when I do this. When I push the first wet patch down the bore I can even feel it getting tight where the fouling is. My lube is 40% besswax 30% lanolin and 30% canola oil. I made a big batch about 2 years ago and it has worked great until now so I wonder if it can go bad after a while. Anyone else have anything similar happen?

John Holland is offline Moderator
    Team:
    44th NY Volunteer Infantry
    00973V
    Region:
    Northeast- New York
    I used to work in a metal stamping factory where we used a lanolin based lubricant for draw dies. We found the lanolin would turn rancid faster than any of the other lubricants. The lanolin in your lube has most likely degraded and is the cause of your fouling problems.

Team:
    149th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry
    Region:
    Middle Atlantic - New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey