Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: air pocket

Region:
    Northwest Territory - Michigan, Ohio and Indiana

air pocket

I recently cast up a bunch of Lyman 315 grn .575 semi wadcutters.

I was inspecting them and noticed many had an air pocket inside the tip of the hollow base.

If you look inside the open end of the bullet, it is in the tip of the open end, right where the tip of the core that forms the hollow base is located.

I am casting at 750 F +... sometimes up to 900 when I don't pay attention to the thermometer as the lead level drops, so it is not cold. I am using a lee 20 lb bottom pour furnace.

I am thinking I am opening the valve too fast and not letting the air vent, but I am wonder what others might think. Some come out with no air pocket, but most have some amount of void, some much larger than others.

Any suggestions?
    Always do what you always done and you'll always get what you always got.

I have found some have many years experience, and some have one year of experience many times.

Team:
    Knap's Battery, Pennsylvania Artillery
    2249v
    Region:
    Allegheny - Maryland, Pennsylvania, West Virginia and Virginia
    You may get arguments on this but a very long time ago I tried casting minnies with a bottom pour and gave up due to the same problems you describe. Went to the ladle and never looked back. I even tried the bottom pour for my 69 round balls and found that even though they look great from the bottom pour the weights run to a closer tolerance by using the ladle.
    I'm sure other's will say they have no trouble with the bottom pour but try the ladle method and judge for yourself.

Jim Brady
    2249V
    Knap's Battery
    Jim Brady
    2249V
    Knap's Battery

CUM CATAPULTAE PROSCRIBEANTUR TUM SOLI PROSCRIPTI CATAPULTAS HABEANT

I did the same as Jim.
    Norm Gibson
    Charter member of the 1st South Carolina Vol. Inf. ACWSA

Team:
    Winslow Battery, 1st New York
    9775V
    Region: