Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Civil War Reading

Region:
    None

Civil War Reading

I can't figure out where to put this. The Fort thread does not seem to have too many posts or readers so here goes and sorry that nothing in this posting goes "bang" . I started reading books on the Civil War (yes, I am a Yankee) back in the 1950's when I was a high school student. I majored in history and after 43 years in the classroom and many years re-enacting am now retired, which gives me a lot of time to to read up on the War Between the States (I am not completely dense). My first books were those of Bruce Catton whose works started me on my historical journey. I read everything he wrote on that subject and I found him to be inspiring. I was surprised to learn later that he was not well respected by the academic community and was treated to academic condescension by history professors whose graduate theses and dissertations made as interesting reading as phone books. I have read good writing by Shelby Foote, Wiley, Freeman, McPherson and many more et ceteras but recently I have re-read Catton's works and you know something, I think Catton has been the best of all and since I no longer do re-enactments and my wife does not want to hear another blessed thing about that or any war and my students are long gone I felt I had to tell this to somebody and you guys are the somebody. Also there's the off chance that Bruce Catton, in that great cantonment in the sky, might be reading these posts too so, if you are, Mr. Catton, thanks for being the most inspiring author to have ever written on this subject. If anyone could resurrect the shades of "these honored dead" and bring them back to life it was, and still remains, you.

Region:
    Deep South - Georgia, Louisiana, Tennessee, Mississippi and Texas
    And don't leave out the good historical novelists--Shelby Foote (again) and Michael Shaara come to mind.
    14th Miss Inf Rgt, CSA/N-SSA, NRA Life Mbr, no longer shooting