Thread: Reproduction 1861 Springfield Questions

Region:
    Western - Illinois and Wisconsin

Reproduction 1861 Springfield Questions

I am kind of new to Civil war era rifles, and I would like to know what the best Reproduction 1861 Springfield is for shooting accuracy and for the price.

also which would be the best rifling twist for both a mini ball and that could shoot a round ball good.

Thank you

Ryan

Team:
    24th Georgia Volunteer Infantry
    Region:
    Carolina - North Carolina and South Carolina

Repro '61

The Pedersoli '61 is probably the finest on the market. Pedersoli barrels have a reputation for superb accuracy. If you "Google" the Pedersoli website, the latest issue of the Pedersoli e-magazine [you can download it from their website] has a write-up on the their Model 1861. The downside is that Pedersoli guns to be a bit pricey.

I would suggest you avoid the Armi Sport replica 1861, I had one of their replica 1855's and its barrel was so grossly overweight that the gun weighed in excess of 12 pounds! If their '61 barrels are the same way, then you don't want one.

You might also want to check the "Buy/Sell/Trade" page of this website. Generally Skirmisher guns are very well cared for and an additional bonus is that many have already been "accurized." Often these fine arms are priced less than brand new arms. If you do buy a second-hand gun, get an inspection privilege with it.

GOOD LUCK

Team:
    15th Connecticut Volunteer Infantry
    2078V
    Region:
    New England - New York, Connecticut, New Jersey and Massachusetts

M1861 Springfield Reproductions

Ryan,