Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Small Arms Approval List confusion.

Team:
    Visitor (non-N-SSA Member)
    NA
    Region:
    Visitor

Small Arms Approval List confusion.

Hello,
    I am new to the N-SSA Forum and have been trying to understand approval list for revolvers. This thread is in no way meant to criticize, far from it as I'm just trying to figure it out.
    I'll use the Remington New Model 1858 Army .44 cal as an example. In that section under "Makers" it shows Navy Arms(Uberti and Pietta. includes stainless model) - Navy Arms is the importer or distributor - not the maker correct? So its a Navy Arms model which must be manufactured by Uberti or Pietta? Now if that is correct, why is a "Pietta or Uberti" Rem NM 1858 Army not listed and where it does show an Uberti it shows ("Taylor's & Co.) next to it - does that mean you can only use that Uberti model IF its sold/imported by Taylor's & Co.?

Also, it does list an F.LLI Pietta("Shooters Model", Dixie Gun Works). With the exception of performance that is built into the Shooters Model isn't it the same dimensionally and appearance-wise of the Pietta 1858 NMA? Also why are some listed as F.LLI Pietta and some simply as Pietta? The stainless model being accepted - why is that accepted? - is it because it can suggest a extremely worn blued model? Is authentic in design or appearance mandatory?

There are other examples also but I'm asking so many questions that I sound like a 10 year old instead of the 55 year old that I am!

I apologize if my questions are confusing or if I'm not relaying what I'm really trying to say. Again, I'm not criticizing - only trying to understand. Believe me, I have nothing but admiration and envy for Skirmishers. Hope someone can decipher my questions or exactly what it is that's confusing me.
    Thank you,
    Eddie

Eggman is offline Banned
    Team:
    Iredell Blues
    7786v
    Region:
    Carolina - North Carolina and South Carolina