Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CONVERSION CYLINDER FOR 36 CALIBER REMINGTON REVOLVERS

Region:
    Potomac - Virginia, Maryland and Delaware

CONVERSION CYLINDER FOR 36 CALIBER REMINGTON REVOLVERS

How do conversion cylinders to 38 special from percussion perform for the 36 caliber Remington revolvers sold by Uberti and Cimarron? I am surprised that a cartridge that uses .357 bullets can shoot well in a barrel that has a groove diameter of about .375. Does anyone have personal experience with this?

Thanks for any response!

David
    DAVID FRANCE

Team:
    1st Maine Heavy Artillery
    2558V
    Region:
    Chesapeake - Maryland, Virginia, Pennsylvania and Ohio

Re: CONVERSION CYLINDER FOR 36 CALIBER REMINGTON REVOLVERS

FWIW: I have seen such cylinders for .44 cal. but not .36. Are you sure they are made??

Bill Shuey

Region:
    None

I have no personal experience, but I have read about them. For them to work you have to use hollow base bullets that will expand into the over size bore. Going from .357 to .375 is a lot of expansion. I don't know what kind of accuracy to expect.
    "The universal aptitude for ineptitude makes any human accomplishment an incredible miracle."

Region:

Thanks,

I'm sure they are made. They are listed on websites by Cimarron and by others.

The hollow base bullet requirement is a turn off for me. I asked one company about them and the person I talked to said they work well with no explanation.

Thanks again!

David
    DAVID FRANCE

Region:
    Deep South - Georgia, Louisiana, Tennessee, Mississippi and Texas

Uberti makes a Richardson-Mason conversion of the M1851 Navy Revolver in .38 Special that is imported by Cimarron. Since these new-made revolvers are manufactured as "conversions" the barrels are likely bored and rifled for .38 rather than the smaller .36 that would be the case had they converted a percussion revolver. But also, many of the original production 1872 Richardson-Mason conversions had new-made barrels.