Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2 Band Rifle-Musket, Rifle or Artillery Model?

Region:
    Potomac - Virginia, Maryland and Delaware

2 Band Rifle-Musket, Rifle or Artillery Model?

I am new to Civil War arms and have been trying to figure the difference between a 2 band rifle-musket like a Fayetteville, a rifle and an artillery model. Can any of you lay it all out for me?
    Scott Kurki
    The Dulany Troop, 6th Virginia Cavalry

Team:
    Battery "C", 1st Michigan Light Artillery
    Region:
    Northwest Territory - Michigan, Ohio and Indiana
    I will take a stab at this. For us a rifle is a 2 band weapon that was orgionaly made that way ie 41 Mississippi, 55 rifle, Zouave. There were many southern and contract types also made. They all typically have a 32”-33” barrel.
    Artillery model would be a standard 3 band “rifled musket that is cut down to rifle length.
    Here is where it gets a bit odd. There are only union records of a small number of 1855 rifled muskets being converted to the “artillery” type. Yet there are 1000s of 1861 and 1863s orgionial artillerys about .
    These were all done post war from surplus arms by firms such as Bannermans for sale to military schools etc. With very little actual use many of these rifles were used by N-SSA members in the early days so they were grandfathered in by our Small Arms people decades ago.
    They have spec sheets on all of them so many of our members are still building them.
    This is it in a nutshell.
    Check out the “approved firearm” list off the home page and ask any SAC member if you have something that does not fit.
    If shooting,fixing,making and thunking were easy.Everyone would be doing it.

There are four types of homicide: felonious, accidental,
    justifiable, and praiseworthy.
    - Ambrose Bierce

Jim

Region: