Thread: What 69 caliber RB mould

Region:
    Carolina - North Carolina and South Carolina

What 69 caliber RB mould

What are the go to 69 cal moulds for smoothies in the N-SSA? Gonna purchase a smoothbore eventually. Also whats the favored lube?

Team:
    149th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry
    Region:
    Middle Atlantic - New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey

Smoothbore

Bill
    You will find a Pandora?s box of what people use. I suggest you shortcut right to the best sources. Seek out and engage in conversation with proven winners. Obviously what firearm you wind up with will determine what you put in it. You can pm me if you wish to discuss.
    When in doubt, mumble, when in trouble, delegate.

Region:
    Middle Atlantic - New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey
    There is an ooooold thread on here, from 2012, titled "Smoothbore theory". It's 12 pages long and has lots of information and things to try. I read through it when I started shooting smoothie last season, and kept trying their ideas until I found one that worked. Eric Fritz (Who commented above) is an exceptional resource for smoothbores. Those 149th PA guys really have smoothbore down to a science. I farmed out to their B team for a regional last season, and watched their A team miss only a handful of shots the entire match!

But, I will comment, having bought a smoothbore and gotten it shooting more recent than most...

Moulds are a problem these days. There isn't a roundball mould with sprue cutter made anymore. But these are what's out there that I've had experience with:
    https://www.ballmoulds.com/ is a great source for single roundball moulds for sizes down to the thousandth.
    https://www.martysarms.com/ is where I got my .680 mould. He makes gang moulds, but only to the hundreth of an inch.
    Lee .690 mould. You can probably play with alloying to get the lead shrinkage down to where you need your ball diameter to be. Seems like a hassle.