Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cleaning your musket tubes

Team:
    149th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry
    09575v
    Region:
    Middle Atlantic - New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey

Cleaning your musket tubes

Okay I have been shooting since 1997, and we all know that musket tubes get dirty. So way back then I thought hell I will sneak them into the laundry machine at my parents house. All has gone really well until today, the top got ripped off the box.

This was the same day we washed all of our shooting towels so mom never knew the tubes were in there, until today.

Problem: Mom got one of those new front loading washing machines. The noise was what ruined it!!!!!!

Warning if you had a top loading washing machine and your significant other did not know you were washing your tubes in the washing machine, do not let them buy a front loading machine! Green
    Joe Plakis XXVIII
    Middle-Atlantic Region
    SAC
    9575V

"Great leadership does not mean running away from reality. Sometimes the hard truths might just demoralize the company, but at other times sharing difficulties can inspire people to take action that will make the situation better." John Kotter

Ron/The Old Reb Guest

Re: Cleaning your musket tubes

"Warning if you had a top loading washing machine and your significant other did not know you were washing your tubes in the washing machine, do not let them buy a front loading machine! "

I take it that you are now outside sleeping with the dog. Green

I use a medium laundry detergent bottle like Tide or Cheer with a handle. I fill it half full of water and then add ( I use a 35mm film container to measure with, filled to the top.) Simple green an equal amount of ammonia, and a good squirt of Dawn dish detergent. I take this down to the line and as I shoot I put the tubes in it. When I get home I let them soak in the solution for about a week and shake every once and a while. Dump them out and rinse in cold water. They come out very clean.