Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Black Powder measures

Region:
    Chesapeake - Maryland, Virginia, Pennsylvania and Ohio

Black Powder measures

I have been using a Lee powder measure for over 10 years. Now I want to upgrade to a Lyman or RCBS. I see that the RCBS Uniflow is not recommended for black powder whereas the Lyman 55 is. RCBS does make a black powder measure at almost twice the price. Any thoughts as to which hand cranked measure turns out a consistant load?
    Michael Moore, 10261

2. Re: Black Powder measures

Neither the Lyman 55 or the RCBS Uniflow are recomended for black powder. The Lyman comes in a variation that is however. I has a larger brass hopper with a drop tube and the price to go with it. That said; I have been using an R C B S Uniflow for 39 years and I still have all my fingers. Use a powder baffle and get to the grain charges from top to bottom of the hopper.

3. Re: Black Powder measures

Lee makes a plastic powder measure that sells for about $18. It's called the Perfect powder measure; it drops accurate loads if you keep it at least 1/2 full. It's small enough to mount on a square board and clamp to the bench. At that price you could have one for each gun. I've used them for years and black powder has no effect on them.
    Cheap and Good, a great combination.
    Walt Magee

Team:
    Winslow Battery, 1st New York
    9775V
    Region:
    Middle Atlantic - New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey

Re: Black Powder measures