Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sharps Infantry Rifle

Team:
    Visitor (non-N-SSA Member)
    NA
    Region:
    Visitor

Sharps Infantry Rifle

Hello ALL. Newly registered as a visitor. Also made a donation. Looks like a great Forum and the best place for shooting information for this paticular gun.
    I have been shooting muzzle loaders for many years, but recently aquired a Pedersoli 1859 Sharps Berdan Infantry Rifle in new condition.And I'm guessing there is probably more experience with the Sharps percussion rifles on this Forum than any other. LOL So here are some questions:
    1. I've read there is a service offered to upgrade the breech block for a better gas seal. Is this true? Would you recommend this? Where to locate this service ?
    2. What do you recommend as the best bullet to use? Can you purchase them ready made? Even pre-lubed?
    3. I guess they can be loaded with loose powder and slug, paper cartidge, cardboard tubes. I've also seen BRASS, reusable tubes offered. Do these work OK ?

Any recommendations greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Rick

Team:
    13th Confederate Infantry
    0829V
    Region:
    Potomac - Virginia, Maryland and Delaware
    Hi,

Would welcome a call to talk over any questions you may have.

Charlie Hahn
    410-627-4726
    hahnmachineworks.com

Team:
    1st Michigan Infantry
    Region:
    Northwest Territory - Michigan, Ohio and Indiana

Sharps basics

Contact Larry Flees, ljflees@hotmail.com or by phone (I'll PM his number as soon as I finish typing this).
    He does the "Sam Dobbin" gas check plate and o ring seal conversion that is the superior method of ensuring your Sharps stays running while shooting long strings at the range.

As far as loading and shooting your Sharps, contact Moose Moulds, amoose@moosemoulds.com or by phone (I'll PM that one too). I use their 544-480 in both of my Sharps carbines.