Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need bullet size help

Team:
    Visitor (non-N-SSA Member)
    NA
    Region:
    Visitor

Need bullet size help

I bought a used 1853 armi sport .58 cal enfield I am trying to find out what size round ball and also what size mini ball I need for it. It has a .585 bore I bought a .578 lee mini ball mold and the mini ball will fall out of the barrel don't know what to do need help here as I am new to this but really wanting to get into it thanks for any help or advice you can give

Team:
    NA
    Region:
    Visitor
    Quote Originally Posted by Harry Gaul View Post
    Hang tight! Some one will help you. Where do you live?

True Blue and Diamond Hard,
    Harry
    3rd US
    3626v
    I live in Beaumont Texas

Team:
    Palmetto Sharpshooters
    5795V
    Region:
    Carolina - North Carolina and South Carolina
    Thinking you need to take your barrel to a machine shop and have them gauge it for you. I've never seen armisport bore that big. After finding the exact bore size you'll need to cast a round you can size .001 under bore size. I'm in McKinney Tx.
    Never squat with yer spurs on!!!

Pat "PJ" Kelly #5795V
    Virginny & Texas
    540-878-8024

MAYNARDS RULE!! & starr's DROOL!
    Hence the rust. MAYNARDAE LAUS DEO!

Team:
    NA
    Region:
    Visitor
    Also this gun has a 1:48 twist

Team:
    NA
    Region:
    Visitor

Need help sizing bullet

Ok I will take it to a machine shop I was going by the owners manual it said it was a .585 bore I'm not sure but I do know I can drop a .578 lee mini right down the barrel if i turn the barrel down and tap it it will fall right out I can barely tap the mini with a hammer before I put it in and it works good it is just like a little to small

Region:
    Deep South - Georgia, Louisiana, Tennessee, Mississippi and Texas
    A P1853 Enfield should not have a 1:48 twist. The P58 does. The P53 probably has a 1:72 or something.

From the Chiappa web site: