Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Another mould/casting problem

Another mould/casting problem

I know this has been beat to death, but here it is:
    I have been casting bullets successfully for 30+ years and I have never reached the level of EXTREME FRUSTRATION that I have with casting minies.
    I have the following:
    -a Gardner mould from Greg Edington that gives me 90% good bullets
    -a Lyman 577611 thats results in 98% voids at the apex of the base plug for a 2% yield
    -a Lyman 575213OS that gives me 80% good bullets
    -a Lyman 578675 that gives me 40% good bullets, most have a hole in the side of the skirt or the skirt doesn't fill out
    -Lee trash can mold that puts out 99% good bullets
    -Lee Old Style Minie that is 50 %

I use pure lead, the lead temp is between 850 and 950
    I have tried a bottom pour Lee and the dipper method. The dipper method gives a higher percentage of good bullets, but I feel anything less than 80% yield is a waste of time. An hour of casting for 12 good bullets is enough to make you want to hang it up.
    Round balls are SO much easier.
    Did I mention this is EXTREMELY FRUSTRATING??
    Any help would be appreciated.

Team:
    24th Georgia Volunteer Infantry
    Region:
    Carolina - North Carolina and South Carolina

TRY SOME TIN

Put a little pure TIN in your lead pot. A SMALL PERCENTAGE of tin will result in cast bullets that fill out the mould better (hence, less rejects) and produce brighter bullets.

Like I said, just a SMALL AMOUNT OF TIN, too much tin will make the skirts of your Minie's too hard to expand properly.

GOOD LUCK AND HAPPY NEW YEARS!!!!

Region:
    Middle Atlantic - New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey
    Try canting the mould a few degrees to either side while pouring, obviously as the lead comes up to form the spru you have to level it out. This will give a slight swirl which may/maynot help. It appears your doing everything else correctly.