Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Minié Ball Help - Parker Hale 1858 Enfield

Team:
    Visitor (non-N-SSA Member)
    NA
    Region:
    Visitor

Minié Ball Help - Parker Hale 1858 Enfield

This is my first post here guys. I'm a dedicated shooter of muzzle loaders - flintlock & percussion with round balls from .32 to .58 - but I have no experience with muskets and Miniés.

Last October I acquired a really nice 1858 Enfield by Parker Hale that I've yet to shoot (hunting season and life got in the way ).

Now, as March approaches the weather down here in S.E. Louisiana is going to get mighty nice for spending a day on the rifle range. So I'm getting ready.

A Rapine 577460 mold came along with the gun.

So today I cast a bunch of Minié balls and did a quick quality control sort with a digital scale. This is what I got.

Somewhat to my surprise, the "460 grain" mold threw balls in the 490 grain range with pure soft lead. I figure I have 52 very good quality balls and another 21 to use for sighting in, plinking, etc.

Now here's my dilemma. Those nice shiny Miniés are averaging .584 diameter and won't enter the muzzle of the gun. I slugged the bore and get something around .581 (it's hard getting a precise reading on the slug with five lands and grooves).

As I understand it, for a gun like this I want the Miniés to be about .002 under bore size. If that's correct, .579 would be about right.

A 37/64" drill bit is 0.5781 diameter. Would it be feasible to use a 1/2" Hex Nut, drilled out with a 37/64" bit to make a sizing die for those bullets, and use my bench top drill press as a press to push the bullets through the die?

Team:
    12th Regiment Pennsylvania Reserve Volunteers
    Region:
    Allegheny - Maryland, Pennsylvania, West Virginia and Virginia