PDA

View Full Version : 1862 CS Musket

bama
09-23-2014, 12:20 PM
I am thinking about purchasing one of these and being new to muskets I thought that I would inquire here before purchasing.

I will be using this musket for target work out to 100 yards shooting patched round ball. All comments appreciated.:p

Lou Lou Lou
09-23-2014, 12:46 PM
I am not an expert on the subject, but rifled muskets were designed to shoot Minie type projectiles. The rifling is shallow. Some folks in the N-SSA can shoot 2 inch groups off hand at 50 yards. The groups at 100 yards are slightly bigger. I am sure someone more knowledgeable will jump in.

Maillemaker
09-23-2014, 01:26 PM
Hi Bama,

Do you live in Alabama? I live in Huntsville. You could come shoot N-SSA skirmishes near Birmingham!

I assume by "1862 CS Musket" you are referring to a Richmond rifle or carbine, which are basically clones of Springfields manufactured by the Confederacy using tooling stolen from the Union during the raid on the Harper's Ferry arsenal.

Reproduction Armisport Richmond Rifles and Carbines, per the Chiappa web site, have a twist rate of 1:65. This is said to be on the upper limit of twist rate for round ball, but others say that with careful load development you may find an accurate combination for patched round ball in even faster twist rates. I personally have never tried to shoot PRB out of my muskets or carbines.

Issued ammunition for rifled arms during the Civil War were either Expanding Ball ammunition (Minie balls) or Enfield-style cartridges.