PDA

View Full Version : Some Thoughts on Cookoffs

Eggman
07-17-2014, 12:14 PM
I've been shooting muzzle loaders since 1972. I've never had a cookoff. In the last year or so two of my teamates have had cookoffs beside me. Why?
The only difference I see is while I use a wooden wiping rod with jag and wet patch between relays (a carryover from my round ball/flintlock days), my teamates use the ever popular bore brush attached to a metal rod. The bore brush does not soak up the debris at the bottom of the barrel, the place where sparks lirk. The wet patch does. Bore brush guys use a scraper to get this stuff off the bottom. I had a scraper for a while but there was never anything down there to scrape up. My thought is, bore brush guys (pretty much everybody), consider using jag and wet patch now and then.

Jim Brady Knap's Battery
07-17-2014, 12:43 PM
After every relay I breech scrape and then brush both done with the butt up so the crud falls out instead of falling to the breech plug. It always seemed to me that patching would drive all the crud straight to the breech plug increasing the chance of a glowing mass being created and requiring more intensive cleaning at days end. When I am cleaning the piece at day's end I plug the nipple, dump in a couple fingers worth of water base cleaner, Black Solve, then hit it with the scraper followed by the brush then dump it out. After 3-4 cycles the liquid is coming out clean and I clean the vent and nipple and patch dry and oil. In my humble view this method seems to be washing and rinsing the crud out instead of repeatly pushing it to the breech with patches. I'm sure everybody has an opinion on their favorite method but I ain't changing.

Jim Brady
2249V
Knap's Battery

Jim_Burgess_2078V
07-17-2014, 12:44 PM