PDA

View Full Version : Did this Variant of the 1855 exist?

B-Davis
07-01-2014, 09:01 AM
I am debating about building two rifles, and the first I am thinking about is a Type I or II Fayetteville. The second that I am looking at building is a Model 1855 Harpers Ferry.
I was on a site doing some research and the website has this picture posted with the description that follows. Long story short, the rifle has long range rear sights and the bore is .54 caliber. Is this right?!?
I am no expert on all the rifles made during the Civil War, so I am asking the experts, has anyone ever heard of a rifle like this, or is the caliber a misprint? Also, is there a variant of the 1855 rifle (not rifled-musket) that has the long range rear sight? I really am intrigued in this rifle, I just want to make sure it is not a misprint, or a parts gun mashed together. Any info would be appreciated!
Bryan Davis

http://relicman.com/weapons/imageweapon/W1220E_small.JPG (http://relicman.com/weapons/imageweapon/W1220E.JPG) http://relicman.com/weapons/imageweapon/W1220A_small.JPG