PDA

View Full Version : De-leading, cleaning barrel

Michael Bodner
06-25-2014, 07:35 AM
I've been shooting the same guns for almost 15 years. Recently, due to some accuracy issues (with my Smith Carbine) I've been doing some thinkin' and tryin'

Basically, it appears as if (at least) the first few inches of my barrel (from the breech end) is either extremely fouled OR has has leaded-up.

So....

Lets hear some ideas/suggestions for cleaning off old fouling and lead. If you look through the barrel it shines. But if you look real careful, you can notice that the lands/grooves are very slight and if you scrap (with a hard point) you can get 'black stuff'. So I'm convinced that I have foulding/leading of the toughest kind.

And YES, I'm scrubbing/brushing A LOT to get this stuff out. But spending the next several weeks scrubbing and hoping to get it out is a poor plan (in my opinion). So, what have YOU done to remove those tough, stubborn barrel stains that doesn't take hours and hours of elbow grease???

Thanks!!

-Mike

Ron/The Old Reb
06-25-2014, 08:38 AM
Bootise
Try Barnes CR10, fallow the directions on the bottle. Don't use it in the house unless you plan on sleeping outside with the dog.

jonk
06-25-2014, 08:58 AM
Mix equal parts vinegar and hydrogen peroxide. Plug the barrel, fill it up, and let it sit 5 minutes. Follow by a good brushing, water rinse to get out the residue, dry, then go at it with Kroil.

You do NOT want to let this mix sit in the bore too long, it will etch the metal, but it's the gold standard for lead.

If that doesn't appeal, I'd strongly suggest a Lewis Lead Remover kit. Brass mesh patches that will mechanically scrape anything out.

With either, it's not a bad idea to then soak the barrel in Kroil or Seafoam Deep Creep (actually, I like it more than Kroil) and let it sit for a few days, then swab it out.

Kevin Tinny
06-25-2014, 11:16 AM
Sorry to appear contradictory, but: