PDA

View Full Version : Fife

Eggman
11-18-2013, 04:39 PM
Anybody out there know the code on how to get a note out of one of these things?

Don Branch 12592
11-18-2013, 05:30 PM
Perhaps you could use a long narrow pair of tweezers or hemostats. :D

Eggman
11-18-2013, 05:58 PM
No I mean a music note ----- DOGS!!!!!!!! I know it can be done. I've heard a clutch of Marylanders get musical notes out of them all at once.

Francis J. Miller Jr, 02601
11-18-2013, 06:03 PM
Eggs,

I play the fife. The way I line up the large mouth hole is place the hole squarely in the middle of the bottom lip, then rotate the fife outward til you feel the edge of the hole at the bottom of the lip, then blow a pinhole of air across and or into the hole like you would on a bottle, rotating the fife back and forth a little until you start to get a steady sound (Note).

Don Branch 12592
11-18-2013, 07:55 PM
Also found this:
http://m.wikihow.com/Play-the-Fife

John Holland
11-18-2013, 11:53 PM
I'm not good at playing a fife, by any means, but I have found that the old original wooden fifes in general seem to have a better tone than the new modern fifes. Now, if I could only read music..... :-D

Eggman
11-19-2013, 09:23 AM
Yeah I went with the cheapo to see if I could play it. Seem to be getting a "note" pretty consistantly now so maybe there's hope. I had to relearn note reading -- did this by repeatedly playing the scales in the instruction book learning to play - what else - bagpipes.

Eggman
11-19-2013, 09:32 AM
Francis - your advice worked best!

John Holland
11-19-2013, 09:37 AM
Bagpipes....WOW....one of the world's most famous military musical instruments! So, if I hear the skree of the pipes down along Back Creek someday I'll know it's just you tuning up and not someone strangling a goose! :-D

R. McAuley 3014V
11-19-2013, 04:39 PM
To the bloody Sassanachs (the English), the skirl of bagpipes sounds like someone skinning a cat!

Mike Stein
11-20-2013, 01:05 AM