PDA

View Full Version : How to install front sight

ian45662
11-03-2013, 10:40 AM
I have to replace the front sight on my hoyt 2 band 1863 springfield because some how I took to much material off. Long story short I cant get the new front sight to stay on the barrel. I cant solder it to save my life. Could someone walk me through how to do this as if I have never done it before because well....... I have never done it before. I have done my own trigger work but I can get this to work at all. I noticed on the old sight that I screwed up there was a layer of solder on the bottom of it and I can not replicate that at all. Not even close, the bead of solder just rolls off the side of the sight and now that I am about out of solder I figure now would be a good time to ask what I am doing wrong. I am using 50/50 solder if that means anything.

Maillemaker
11-03-2013, 05:25 PM
Some people drill a small hole/pocked in the bottom of the sight, then drop in some silver solder in the pocket. Then you install the sight. When you have windage adjusted as you want it, heat the sight with a torch and the solder melts, soldering the sight in place.

Steve

robertdeans72
11-03-2013, 05:45 PM
Hi there,