PDA

View Full Version : casting equipment recommendations?

Capnball
07-19-2013, 12:58 PM
I've always just gotten by with borrowed equipment for what little casting I've done, which has been in some volume, especially with roundballs and minies. I would like to get myself some basic, cheap casting equipment, and wondered what was recommended by you skirmishers. I'm going to be casting almost exclusively blackpowder bullets, including minies, round balls, and occasionally sharps or spencer bullets, if I am ever again fortunate enough to posess either arm. What are y'all's favorite casting methods, and what would be the best simple equipment for the money?

ms3635v
07-19-2013, 01:02 PM
Capnball, I use a propane fueled plumber's pot and a ladle. I have been using this method for the past 35 years and is the method I prefer. However, having said that, many shooters like the bottom pour electric pots....so, I guess the answer is, whatever method works best for you should help you decide.

John Holland
07-19-2013, 01:27 PM
I'm "old school", been casting bullets for 50+ years on an old Griswold two burner natural gas fired hot plate, which was already quite old when I began using it. I use an open cast iron pot and hand pour. It worked then....it works now.

CJM
07-19-2013, 01:39 PM
Absolutely. You don't have to buy expensive equipment to cast quality bullets. That is a good thing for the financially challenged like me especially. For musket minnies I prefer a gas turkey fryer burner with a cast iron bowl set in top of it. I pour with a bottom pour ladle. I find it is easier to achieve my desired temperature in the pot and keep the mould hot with this method for the larger bullet. I also have a bottom pour lee pot that I use for smaller bullets but it is problematic. Leaks allot and have trouble fluxing / scraping the dross with all of the valve apparatus in the way. For me I prefer to practice the KISS method - Keep It Simple Stupid