PDA

View Full Version : Aluminum Maynard Cases

Charlie Hahn
03-17-2009, 06:22 PM
I am pondering another project in an effort to produce a lower cost case for Maynard use. Has anyone used an aluminum case? If so, what was your experience?

I am aware of drawn cases from aluminum being used in larger weapon systems, as well as machined items. I have also worked with cartridge cases that can reloaded produced from aluminum alloy. I believe our lower pressure systems would have a good fit provided the correct alloy is used. It will also offer a lower material cost.

In any case, any comments are welcomed

Thanks,

Charlie Hahn

RangerFrog
03-18-2009, 08:05 AM
Charlie,

I have no experience with this at all, having just acquired my first percussion Maynard, but having just priced the additional brass I will need to buy to campaign it, I would be most interested in hearing about your progress at finding a less expensive way to do it. Are you thinking of making full capacity or reduced capacity cases?

Froggie

Eric A. Savickas, 08663V
03-18-2009, 08:07 AM
Have you given any thought to corrosion?

John Bly
03-18-2009, 12:19 PM
Charlie, Some years ago when the price of brass was high, someone was selling aluminum Smith cases. I bought 50 of them. I've shot them for over 15 years and they are still good. I thought the flash holes would burn out quickly, but they have not. Alum. Maynard cases should work OK.
Probably 6061-T651 would be the 1st choice, but you may want to look at the new super corrosion resistant grade 6013 or 6020. They are both as strong or stronger than 6061, easy to machine, and more corrosion resistant than 6061. They might not be cheaper. All three of these grades are stronger than the brass used in the ones available now. Corrosion will not be a problem if the cases are cleaned in a timely manner after shooting. That's my opinion and it's worth just what you paid for it. John Bly 5109V

Charlie Hahn
03-19-2009, 10:33 AM
Thanks for the comments,