PDA

View Full Version : Lead weights and deviations

jek279
12-31-2012, 02:12 PM
I cast my own minie balls for my .577 1862 Enfield. Anyone with experience could you tell me what BHN level do you want your lead? I run about 5.5-7. Is that to much of a variation in hardness? Plus, what weight deviation do you allow for shoot able balls? I use the 575213 AV mold from lodgewood. In a typical 100 ball casting, 5-7 will be .493 grains or less. 45-50 will be .497-.500 grain, and 30-35 at .501-.503 grains, and about 10 heavies above .5031. Are these acceptable numbers and what weight variation should I stay within when grouping rounds?

johnefelts
12-31-2012, 04:39 PM
I do not think that a 10 grain spread in bullet weight will affect accuracy that much.

Southron Sr.
12-31-2012, 05:48 PM
I generally run somewhere between 300 and 500 Minie Balls at a casting session because I have a Master Caster casting machine.

Then I go through them and separate out any that have visible flaws, such things as "blow holes" in the hollow bases, folds or whatever on the surface of the Minie, etc.

Then I weigh all my Minie Balls on an electronic scale and separate into the various "weight lots." If I were to chart the weights of my Minies, they would always fall into a classic "Bell Shaped Curve."

Generally I hold my "Match Bullets" to Plus or Minus 3 Grains. The lots of the "heavier" and "slightly lighter" bullets are kept separate and loaded together and shot together for practice ammo or team events. Of course, all of the "too light" bullets get recycled back into the lead pot because even they might look good on the outside, obviously, somewhere in them they have a trapped air bubble.

I have a Lead Hardness Tester I never use because I generally get my lead from a foundry that guarantees the lead is 99.9% "Pure."