PDA

View Full Version : Need help with a stuck bullet

ky_yankee94
09-08-2012, 02:50 PM
Ok, i feel stupid but here it is. I just bought a euroarms enfield from a guy. He won shooting competitions within his regiment with it. He told me things to do when i shoot it and i followed them step by step. The gun is .577 in caliber and the pure lead minie balls are .575. I shot a few blanks out before i loaded the ball. I didn't think about cleaning it but i put alot of lube on the ball (the grooves and hollow base). I rammed the bullet down and it got stuck about halfway down the barrel. I kept messing with it and got it down to about 5 inches from the powder at the bottom of the barrel. Well i'm new to live firing these old muzzle loaders. I shoot blanks all the time at reenactments but never have live fired them. Any way, I got scared and tried to pull the ball out with the ball puller and everytime it grips and just slides out. I used a drill one time and it got pretty tight and wouldnt come out at all. and is where it remains now. I've sprayed ballistol down the barrel and let it set. Is there anything i can do or use to help instead of taking it to a gunsmith? And yes as i'm sure as most of you can tell i am new to live firing these and can use all the help or advice i can get. Thank you!

Maillemaker
09-08-2012, 03:31 PM
OK, first thing first, DO NOT ATTEMPT TO SHOOT THE BALL OUT!

At best, you will "ring" the barrel (bulge it), ruining it, at worst the barrel may explode.

Never shoot a ball that is not completely seated on the powder.

Your safest way to unload it is with compressed gas. Your local skirmish folks should have a big bottle of air with a nozzle. You hook it up to your nipple and the air will push the ball out.

They make personal ones designed to work with the CO2 cartridges you can buy at WalMart for BB guns:

http://www.cabelas.com/product/CO2-Load-Discharger-Kit-and-Replacement-Cartridges/706432.uts