PDA

View Full Version : Musket Cook offs

Steve Buchanan
09-04-2012, 10:00 PM
I've been experiecing musket cook offs going on 3 years now consistantly about 1 per match at the breech. They can occur antime durring the team match usually with in the first 3 or 4 relays. I shoot an original Zouave 7 L&G barrel with the wilkinson bullet, 40 grains 3 f Goex and MCM lube. Tried cleaning after each relay, the barrel has been to 2 gunsmiths, new nipples both large and small holes, different cleaning patches, 3 lube recipes, different style bullet to no avail. before I give up on the rifle is there anyone having the same luck? The next thing I intend to try is a new lot of powder....Help....ideas???

jonk
09-04-2012, 11:05 PM
Are you lubing the bases? One of my teammates turned me on to filling the bases with white lithium grease... he's never had a cook off in about 40 years of skirmishing. This is my first year skirmishing, but, fingers crossed, I've not had one yet either...

Edwin Flint
09-05-2012, 02:22 AM
Check your patches. Friend had this problem with patches leaving threads which became ember, followed by cookoff on the next shot.

Lou Lou Lou
09-05-2012, 06:41 AM
Suggest that you unbreech the gun and polish the face of the breech plug. That is the usual suspect. Or have a competent gunsmith do it.

John Holland
09-05-2012, 07:22 AM
I would experiment with a different musket using the exact ammo, lube, and cleaning process. If the preemies continue then the problem lies in your components. If the preemies cease then the problem is with your original rifle. Just a simple process of elimination rather than guessing what may be wrong and randomly changing things hoping the problem will go away.

Just my 2 cents.

JDH

ms3635v
09-05-2012, 08:18 AM