PDA

View Full Version : Loading Charlies Tubes for Dummies

marbee40
03-18-2012, 07:48 PM
Charlie just worked over my I.A.B. Sharps 1863 .54. I'm new to BP (duh). :D I've got a bag full of Charlies tubes on the bench and paper. I hate to keep pestering him with repeated phone calls. Can someone describe how to put the paper on or in the end of the tube, load the powder, and seal the bullet on the end in a way that even an old Seabee can understand?

On a side note: Anyone on here know of a distributor for Swiss 2f in Alaska?

Thanks,
Jim

Michael T.
03-18-2012, 08:42 PM
This is how my son-in- law detailed it for me: need some curling papers (permanent wave type) white elmer's glue, a short piece of 7/16" dowel rod. Cut curling papers into 1" or 1- 1/4 " squares, line one end of tube (inside) with small amount of glue- very fine line- place paper square over end of dowel rod and gently push into tube until it contacts glue, remove dowel and place tube paper side up to dry, repeat process. When tubes are dry measure powder into tubes, if it does not fill tube add cream of wheat as a filler, place a small amount of glue around ring at base of bullet and insert into tube, allow to dry. After you have made all the charges you wish lube bullet careful not to dip past bullet onto cardboard tube.Waxed paper acts as a good way to make dowel slide, polish with wax paper.. enjoy Mike

ian45662
03-18-2012, 10:01 PM
I use paper medical tape that you get from cvs or a similar drug store. I used to glue the paper to the end but a team mate recomended the tape and I have never looked back.

kowdok
03-19-2012, 09:55 PM
Be careful using filler. My Sharpes would blow out only 50% or less when using filler, stopped using filler and 100% now blow out. I think filler in a Sharpes is highly overrated.

ian45662
03-20-2012, 04:07 PM