PDA

View Full Version : smoothebore loads

RaccoonRough Spence
11-20-2011, 07:16 PM
Hello,I have a repro 1842 Springfield. I have not shot it and would like to get a load worked up for it over the winter. I am new to the whole smoothbore thing and am looking for some advice on where to start.Does anyone have any suggestions?

pastore
11-21-2011, 09:06 AM
.678 ball rasped and lubed with your choice of lube, 47 grs FFF. HAVE FUN !

Phil Spaugy, 3475V
11-21-2011, 09:48 AM
.678 ball, rattled with some others in a metal coffee can, lightly lubed with some liquid Alox, 55 grains of 3f.

Fire and Fall Back.

Phil

Eggman
11-21-2011, 10:42 AM
Is there a creek nearby you could toss it in to??

tmont
11-21-2011, 05:47 PM
Let not your heart be troubled. The 42 is a great shooter. You will wonder why your other rifles have rear sights once you get used to it.

Eggman
11-22-2011, 11:33 AM
To clarify, like most smoothbores it's a great shooter at say a twenty gallon gas can or a watermellon at ten yards. However, the N-SSA, in its avarace, makes you shoot at a clay pigeon at twenty-five yards. They keep recycling the same pigeons from skirmish to skirmish. The team that actually hits a pigeon gets the medals.

pastore
11-22-2011, 11:41 AM
Since you are a new smoothbore shooter, I would like to share with you an email I received in 1998 when I was inquireing about smoothbore loads. The email was from
Don DiCicco, who is now deceassed.

"God help thee my skirmish brother. Thou hast bought a demon musket placed here by Satan. Thou searcheth for the tight of group in vain. Pray sell that demon musket before you loseth your sanity. Listen not to false experts."

I got such a laugh out of this that I printed it and have had it on my bulletin board since then.

Notwithstanding this warning, You will have fun with the smoothbore. Rear sights are truely "highly over-rated" :p

Maillemaker
11-22-2011, 11:42 AM