PDA

View Full Version : Jensco Maynard Barrel Issue

Joe Plakis, 9575V
09-27-2011, 09:31 PM
Okay folks, I was putting a new mainspring in my original Maynard Carbine when I noticed that the Jensco Barrel that I have mounted on it has cracked!!! On the bottom of the barrel you have two lugs, does anyone know how Jensco made his barrels? From what I can see those two "lugs" were welded on, you can see in places a defined line and what looks like welds. My major issue is that the lug on the rear of the barrel has cracked about half way through. I don't plan on shooting it because the safety is compromised, but I am hoping that I can fix the barrel.

I know that the barrel never seemed to lock up any tighter than the original barrel that was on it, so a stress crack from it being too tight to the frame just seems odd.

Any help would be great! And no, a Starr will not fix my problem!

John Holland
09-28-2011, 12:14 AM
Take it to Bobby Hoyt at the Fort next week for his opinion.

JDH

Joe Plakis, 9575V
09-28-2011, 07:22 AM
John I planned on bring it down, not sure how it happened but obviously need to get it fixed.

Bob Elka, 12001
09-28-2011, 08:08 AM
Hey Joe if you see me around when you have it I'd like to get a look at it as well ....... might learn me something....bob

RaiderANV
09-29-2011, 12:21 AM
Someone showed me a barrel that had a very slight crack on the rear lug years ago. I directed them back to Jensco as that's who made it. Saw them a year later at the Nationals and they said Everything was made right. I didn't ask if that one was fixed or replaced.

And no, a Starr will not fix my problem!

BUT THEY WILL HOLD UP YER 'MATERS RIGHT FINE NOW!!!!!!

Joe Plakis, 9575V
09-29-2011, 09:56 AM
Is Jensco still in business???

John Bly
09-30-2011, 03:54 PM