PDA

View Full Version : Key holing minnies

NJCOP
08-03-2011, 04:54 PM
I'm not new to muzzle loading but I am new to WBTS guns. As I'm rewriting this post due to an errant key stroke, War and Peace is getting abbreviated.

I have a Miruko Zoave that I bought to start shooting with fully knowing they weren't used during the war but Miruko does make good guns and its what I could afford before going on the hunt for a PH Enfield which has turned out to be something of a circus.

"If Bilgewater Bob is out there. I apologize for wasting your time and regret doing so as the other gun owner backed out of the deal and I now have a big fat nothing in my gun locker where your PH could have been sitting."

Getting back to the key holing, I went to the range today with my home cast Lee Minnies and my home rendered beef tallow and bees wax lube. I shot 6 rounds. One hit where it should have and the other five were all over God's green earth on a police qualification target at 25 yards. OMG Just to make sure the gun wasn't a total piece of crap I shot 3 round patched balls and they lumped into a real nice group with the one good minnie round.

I know that there are a dozen reasons why this could happen but on the way back from the range something hit me. When I lubed these minnies I dipped them in the lube and placed them on a piece of aluminum foil. There was a pretty thick coating of lube not only in the grooves of the bullets but also on the ridges. In fact when I pushed them in the barrel it was leaving a sizable amount of lube on the muzzle of the barrel. By any means possible did I overlube these bullets causing them to hydroplane down the barrel instead of engaging the lands and grooves or am I grabbing at straws? Not to sound idiotic but in general is the lube only suppose to be in the grooves? Would it being glunked on the ridges cause the key holing?