PDA

View Full Version : Question about muskets--

MIR
06-13-2011, 08:40 PM
I am new to all this so bear with me, a question regarding, historical facts and reenacting----I am doing some initial research regarding muskets used in the CW. This may be a dumb question, but what was the most widely used musket used by the Confederacy? I know that there was no "standard" since both sides used (for example) the Springfield and Enfield,for the most part. not sure on the numbers but I am sure that the Springfield was produced in more numbers than the Enfield. I use to think the Enfield was strictly used by the Confederacy, but now I find out not true. --And last but not least, it would be fair that the south, especially as the years progressed, used anything they could find. So was there really a "standard" or not.
So this question may open a can or worms, then again, someone might just nip it in the bud quick.

Would it be safe to say that if you were to do an impression, either gun is fine...or---which is more correct? Perhaps thats onther question for another topic--dont know....

matt
06-14-2011, 08:50 AM
If you are doing a specific unit than research what they were issued and when. If you are doing a generic infantry impression than a 55 springfield, 42 springfield, converted 16 would be good for the early war era 61- to late 62. Mid 62- early 64, enfield 53 musket, 61 springfield plus the earlier muskets.Late 63 to end of the war then you start to see the 63 springfield start showing up. If you are doing Reb then you can throw the Richmond produced muskets into the mix. You can always use the early muskets for a later time frame but cant use later for earlier. Hopes this helps.
Matt
Winslow's Battery D 1st NY Lt Artillery 9775v

Ken Hansgen, 11094
06-14-2011, 12:47 PM