PDA

View Full Version : Star Carbine "New Model" rifiling

archresearcher
04-19-2011, 09:57 AM
I posted a request for information on Star Carbine "New Model" (chambered for the Spencer 56-52 metallic cartridge) rifling on the Military Historian forum back in Dec. 2010 and they were kind enough to post the query here. However to date I've received no information on the rifling question. So, I thought I would ressurect the topic once more.

I would greatly appreciate any documented information on the rifiling history and, more important, the characteristics (number and dimensions of land and grooves) of the rifiling in these carbines. Please include document references with the information. Knowledgeable contacts would be helpful also.

I'm a researcher by nature and as a result keep searching until I'm satisfied with my results. Judging from this forum I'd say I'm in good company. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

John Holland
04-19-2011, 11:24 AM
1 - What resources have you used so far, so efforts aren't duplicated?

2 - What information do you have already?

3 - To what end is your research being done?

Thank you.

Sincerely,
John Holland
Chairman, Small Arms Committee

archresearcher
04-20-2011, 09:44 AM
John;
Thanks for your reply/Inquiry.
1) I have consulted Thomas (Round Ball to Rimfire Vol.2), McAuley (Carbines of the Civil War), Garavaglia & Worman (Firearms of the American West, both volumes), Pittman (Breechloading Carbines), amoung various other websites and forums.

2)The only information I have been able to garner, relative to the rifling, is the number of weapons produced (and I have come across contradictions to the published amount, 5001) and that they may have had 5 lands and grooves, but some may have been produced with 8 lands and grooves. None of the sources I have checked mention any details of the rifling such as land and groove dimensions or even rifling twist.

3)Personal and professional gratification.