PDA

View Full Version : Dave France and the blowup while pouring powder

Ken Hansgen, 11094
03-22-2011, 09:28 PM
Dave, while replying on another thread, recently reported that an electrical engineer told him he had had an accident while pouring powder into a container. He or Dave theorized that was due to static electricity. I said I was concerned because I do that often--when I finish a loading session I pour the unused BP still in my measure though an aluminum funnel back into a 1# can that usually has more BP already in it. I asked Dave if he knew whether that was dangerous. Maybe he'll answer here.

Timmeu
03-22-2011, 10:00 PM
HI

I am no engineer but I use plastic funnels from RCBS for the very reason you mention.

Timmeu

Ken Hansgen, 11094
03-22-2011, 11:12 PM
And I've been told that plastic is more likely to build up static than aluminum Perhaps RCBS has added something that prevents this?

DAVE FRANCE
03-22-2011, 11:48 PM
Ken,

He is an engineer, and I think he is an electrical engineer.

I will ask him for details and I will ask if I can put his name on this BB.

I am glad you wanted more information. Let me put some background information here.

1) There was a test done and showed on the internet, and reported in the skirmish Line. It showed electrical sparks hitting a small pile of black powder and the powder never caught fire. I think the reason given was that the powder never got hot enough to catch fire because BP is too good of a conducter to get hot. That makes sense to me.
2) BP will ignite without a spark, just from heat. And I think the ignition temperature is less that 500 degrees F. If you took a nail and heated it up to red hot, it will ignite BP without a flame. If you let the nail cool off, it will still ingite BP until the nail temperature gets below the ignition temperature (less than 500 degrees).