PDA

View Full Version : CONVERSION CYLINDER FOR 36 CALIBER REMINGTON REVOLVERS

DAVE FRANCE
12-10-2010, 12:46 PM
How do conversion cylinders to 38 special from percussion perform for the 36 caliber Remington revolvers sold by Uberti and Cimarron? I am surprised that a cartridge that uses .357 bullets can shoot well in a barrel that has a groove diameter of about .375. Does anyone have personal experience with this?

Thanks for any response!

David

William H. Shuey
12-10-2010, 03:29 PM
FWIW: I have seen such cylinders for .44 cal. but not .36. Are you sure they are made??

Bill Shuey

dml1296
12-10-2010, 07:50 PM
I have no personal experience, but I have read about them. For them to work you have to use hollow base bullets that will expand into the over size bore. Going from .357 to .375 is a lot of expansion. I don't know what kind of accuracy to expect.

DAVE FRANCE
12-10-2010, 08:20 PM
Thanks,

I'm sure they are made. They are listed on websites by Cimarron and by others.

The hollow base bullet requirement is a turn off for me. I asked one company about them and the person I talked to said they work well with no explanation.

Thanks again!

David

R. McAuley 3014V
12-10-2010, 09:18 PM
Uberti makes a Richardson-Mason conversion of the M1851 Navy Revolver in .38 Special that is imported by Cimarron. Since these new-made revolvers are manufactured as "conversions" the barrels are likely bored and rifled for .38 rather than the smaller .36 that would be the case had they converted a percussion revolver. But also, many of the original production 1872 Richardson-Mason conversions had new-made barrels.

http://www.buffaloarms.com/browse.cfm/2,278.html