PDA

View Full Version : Blackpowder Powder Measure

MR. GADGET
10-10-2008, 08:47 AM
I'm looking at getting a RCBS BPPM and wanted to know more about it, if any of you are using it. I have used RCBS for years in reloading and like there stuff but know nothing of the BPPM.

I want it for F and FF and FFF.
Is it a slide like the ones you get for hunting like the brass type that step in 5,10, 15 and so on. I know it will go up to 120 gr.
The one I have not for smokless can be set on any grain you want with a screw but from the picture I have found it does not look like a screw, more like a slide. If it is a slide like the brass hand measures, most are set for ff and in a 10,20,30,40,50,60,70, and so on for hunting or 5,10,15,20 on up. It would change if you use the F or FFF.
I'm using the Lee dippers for now and that is getting old with all the shooting I'm doing.

Any help would be good.
Hornady BPPM would be my next pick.

pastore
10-10-2008, 11:10 AM
I have no experience with the RCBS, but have used the Lyman 55 measures for 40 years. I currently use 5 of them, all set to different charges of black powder. I realize Lyman says they are not recommended for black powder, but strangely enough the very same measures that were manufactured before lawyers ruled the world had the slides marked in grains of black powder. :roll:

Jerry Ward
10-10-2008, 11:40 AM
Jon,

Have you looked at a Belding and Mull? Love mine!

MR. GADGET
10-10-2008, 11:51 AM
Jon,

Have you looked at a Belding and Mull? Love mine!

Got one but never used it. Just looked like it was going to be a PITA to use and it needs a new glass cover. It looks like it has clear tape for a cover on the bottom.
Maybe I need to fix it and give it a try.

Lou Lou Lou
10-10-2008, 12:50 PM
I will be glad to take it off your hands.

That should help you realize how good it is.

Jerry Ward
10-10-2008, 03:55 PM
Jon,