varsity07840
07-29-2010, 08:02 AM
I'm looking for suggestions on what style/type of minie would be suitable
for a 1/48 twist.

Thanks in advance.

Duane

hp gregory, 9128
07-29-2010, 08:28 AM
what caliber. im far from an expert on this stuff but what i have seen over the years is that a faster twist would be good for heavier bullets but since a minie has a hollow base that can change things some.
i have found with a slower twist a gun may have a wide sweet spot for powder charges. a faster twist may have a much more narrow sweet spot.
the best way to work up a load is to get a number of differant types of minies from friends. size them for a slide fit and start with 40 grains of 3f goex. work up or down from there and see which bullet groups the best. each gun has its own personality so you need to find out what it likes.
hp gregory

varsity07840
07-29-2010, 08:39 AM
.58 Hoyt reline. I'd ask Bob but he's out of town.

R. McAuley 3014V
07-29-2010, 12:21 PM
This an Enfield or Springfield, short gun or long gun? A 48-inch spiral usually requires a heavier bullet so it doesn't trip over the rifling. For example, a 315-gr Rapine wadcutter with 40-gr of Goex triple fine is a bit light for a bullet but it performs almost the same at 50 yards as a 470-gr Lee ashcan with 60-gr of Goex double fine, but the wadcutter falls short at 100. The heavier ashcan is good at 50 and 100, but with 60-gr of double fine is rather punishing to your cheek. At 50-55-grs, I often got 50% keyholes, but no keyholes with 60-grs. It might work as well with 40 to 45 gr of triple fine, which exerts a higher chamber pressure especially over the first half of the barrel, but if you're shooting a short gun, don't look for a lighter recoil. Long guns have an advantage over short guns upon account that the pressure is distributed over a larger area so has a lower recoil.

varsity07840
07-29-2010, 01:57 PM
It's a 25" Richmond carbine. I like the wadcutter. It shoots well in my .58