PDA

View Full Version : WTB RWS musket caps

BLakatos
09-20-2022, 11:15 AM
I am new to shooting sharps and have had a difficult time using schuetzen caps. I was told that the RWS cap works best.
Anyone have some they would be willing to part with?
Thanks, Brian

Maillemaker
09-20-2022, 01:37 PM
What is the problem you are having?

I had problems with my Sharps and Sheutzen caps. I replaced the nipple and the problem went away.

My problem was inconsistent failure to fire the cap. The Sheutzen caps are steel (brass plated) and as a result they may not deform onto the nipple under the hammer as readily as actual brass ones do.

I find the Sheutzen caps pepper my off hand fingers horribly. I don't know if this is because of increased brisance or just that the steel cap doesn't form as good a seal on the nipple as brass ones do.

BLakatos
09-20-2022, 02:09 PM
That?s exactly the problem I?m having. I?ve tried positioning them various ways but not a whole lot of consistency. What type of nipple did you use?

Maillemaker
09-21-2022, 09:05 AM
I'm not sure. I actually ordered one from Track of the Wolf that was said to be for the Pedersoli 1859 Sharps Rifle, thinking it would work for the Carbine, and it did not fit (wrong thread size).

I looked through my box of spares and found one that worked. I'm pretty sure this is a nipple I ordered from Lodgewood for my original Smith that ended up being the wrong one for the Smith.

Steve

Jim_Burgess_2078V
09-21-2022, 12:50 PM
You need a hot cap for the spark to find its way through the Sharps breechblock. The Schuetzens work fine in my Shilohs. The RWS caps used to work well but about the same time the German caps began to come in plastic containers they seemed to lose some of their brisance. I started getting misfires. I switched to the hot CCI 6-wing caps but when they were discontinued, I went to Schuetzens which, happily, are a little less expensive than RWS.