PDA

View Full Version : Maynard cases

mikeE
05-20-2020, 03:23 PM
Just wondering, has anyone ever made Maynard cases out of other metals such as aluminum or stainless steel ? Don't know if this was tried before. Was just wondering if they would hold up. I hate cleaning brass!

Lou Lou Lou
05-20-2020, 03:45 PM
CharliecHahn makes aluminum Maynard cases to order

John Holland
05-20-2020, 06:04 PM
In my personal opinion, only, if you don't like cleaning Brass cases.....you REALLY won't like keeping Aluminum cases from corroding!

mikeE
05-20-2020, 09:03 PM
Your probably right John. Didn't think of that. I would much rather continue with the plastic cases, they really worked for me. But they are getting hard to find.

maynard6
05-20-2020, 10:01 PM
Your probably right John. Didn't think of that. I would much rather continue with the plastic cases, they really worked for me. But they are getting hard to find.

I've been shooting the same cases for 15 yrs . After coming off the line I throw them into a can of Dawn detergent. When I get home I rinse them with hot H2o ,throw them into an ultrasonic cleaner .rinse them off an ultrasonic. I then tumble them . Sounds like a lot off messing around but it is very fast. I usually have them 1/2 ultasonic before I have put away my gear from a skirmish . That is merely one way .

bobanderson
05-21-2020, 07:51 AM
Just wondering, has anyone ever made Maynard cases out of other metals such as aluminum or stainless steel ? Don't know if this was tried before. Was just wondering if they would hold up. I hate cleaning brass!

I have about 30 cases turned from stainless steel for my 36 caliber 1st model Romano Maynard. These were made by a highly qualified machinist specifically for my gun. I've used them for over 10 years and they clean and perform flawlessly. I think commercially produced stainless steel Maynard brass would be very popular.