PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning your musket tubes

Joe Plakis, 9575V
05-10-2010, 05:40 PM
Okay I have been shooting since 1997, and we all know that musket tubes get dirty. So way back then I thought hell I will sneak them into the laundry machine at my parents house. All has gone really well until today, the top got ripped off the box.

This was the same day we washed all of our shooting towels so mom never knew the tubes were in there, until today.

Problem: Mom got one of those new front loading washing machines. The noise was what ruined it!!!!!!

Warning if you had a top loading washing machine and your significant other did not know you were washing your tubes in the washing machine, do not let them buy a front loading machine! Green

Ron/The Old Reb
05-12-2010, 09:14 AM
"Warning if you had a top loading washing machine and your significant other did not know you were washing your tubes in the washing machine, do not let them buy a front loading machine! "

I take it that you are now outside sleeping with the dog. Green

I use a medium laundry detergent bottle like Tide or Cheer with a handle. I fill it half full of water and then add ( I use a 35mm film container to measure with, filled to the top.) Simple green an equal amount of ammonia, and a good squirt of Dawn dish detergent. I take this down to the line and as I shoot I put the tubes in it. When I get home I let them soak in the solution for about a week and shake every once and a while. Dump them out and rinse in cold water. They come out very clean. :D

PS. A little more work but it saves getting killed.

Ken Hansgen, 11094
05-12-2010, 10:44 PM
I also shake them (when dry) in a large covered can with some cornstarch so no gunpowder will stick inside later. The black neoprene tubes seem to get a little sticky after washing otherwise. I don't wash them every time, tho', just wipe them with a cloth usually.

05-13-2010, 01:38 PM