PDA

View Full Version : maynard carbine help needed

wormey
04-08-2010, 02:18 PM
Need one of you Maynard experts to steer me in the right direction. I`m having trouble with misfires and it appears that the flash from the cap is striking the case just under the flash hole. There is some up and down movement in the barrel when closed. What`s going on. Could the barrel link be in upside down. Which end goes up....the rounded end or the more pointed end?? Thanks for helping out a fat old guy ( but a veteran) Wormey.

Alan Spencer, 7794V
04-08-2010, 03:38 PM
I had the same problem with the plastic tubes.. Drilled the hole bigger and since then have not had a problem. Quick simple fix..

Good luck...

Scott Kurki, 12475
04-08-2010, 03:59 PM
I am no expert. Personally, I would send the rifle to a good smith and get it all tightened up and aligned so that the holes are coincidental with eachother. This method is not cheap but you would have a nice rifle when all is said and done. Messing with the hole size sounds like it would work but seems like a bandaide instead of a solution.

RangerFrog
04-08-2010, 04:20 PM
I'm with Scott on this one. I would not feel good about shooting a Maynard (or any break-open firearm for that matter) that was loose when it was supposed to be locked up. If a Maynard is loose with a round inserted, something is definitely wrong... mine is tight even when empty! Do you have a first model or second? Original or repro? More details are needed to make more meaningful judgements. You may just need to change your link or its position, or it may be something more. If I am following your description of the link, it sounds like what you call the "pointy end" should be up (toward the bottom of the barrel. If your barrel is sufficiently loose, it could be drooping enough to make the flash hole of the cartridge appear high for the flash hole in the breech face.

Froggie