PDA

View Full Version : Black Powder measures

mwmoore10261
04-07-2010, 02:13 PM
I have been using a Lee powder measure for over 10 years. Now I want to upgrade to a Lyman or RCBS. I see that the RCBS Uniflow is not recommended for black powder whereas the Lyman 55 is. RCBS does make a black powder measure at almost twice the price. Any thoughts as to which hand cranked measure turns out a consistant load?
Michael Moore, 10261

Joe 3rd N C Art 2440V
04-07-2010, 02:52 PM
Neither the Lyman 55 or the RCBS Uniflow are recomended for black powder. The Lyman comes in a variation that is however. I has a larger brass hopper with a drop tube and the price to go with it. That said; I have been using an R C B S Uniflow for 39 years and I still have all my fingers. Use a powder baffle and get to the grain charges from top to bottom of the hopper. :)

Walt Magee
04-07-2010, 08:37 PM
Lee makes a plastic powder measure that sells for about $18. It's called the Perfect powder measure; it drops accurate loads if you keep it at least 1/2 full. It's small enough to mount on a square board and clamp to the bench. At that price you could have one for each gun. I've used them for years and black powder has no effect on them.
Cheap and Good, a great combination.
Walt Magee

matt
04-08-2010, 07:32 AM
i use the lyman 55 with aluminum baffle and powder resevoir and drop tubes. i find that for throwing bp it works great very stable in charge weight the problem is that when you have to change the charge it is trial and error till you find the right setting. it is very difficult to read markings on the slides and the bottem drum cant be seen at all unless you have the handle rotated. as for throwing smokeless i have never gotten this measure to throw anything even close to being consistant it is all over the place one high next low so i only use it for bp.