PDA

View Full Version : Sharps Infantry Rifle

Rickystl
12-28-2018, 08:16 AM
Hello ALL. Newly registered as a visitor. Also made a donation. Looks like a great Forum and the best place for shooting information for this paticular gun.
I have been shooting muzzle loaders for many years, but recently aquired a Pedersoli 1859 Sharps Berdan Infantry Rifle in new condition.And I'm guessing there is probably more experience with the Sharps percussion rifles on this Forum than any other. LOL So here are some questions:
1. I've read there is a service offered to upgrade the breech block for a better gas seal. Is this true? Would you recommend this? Where to locate this service ?
2. What do you recommend as the best bullet to use? Can you purchase them ready made? Even pre-lubed?
3. I guess they can be loaded with loose powder and slug, paper cartidge, cardboard tubes. I've also seen BRASS, reusable tubes offered. Do these work OK ?

Any recommendations greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Rick

Charlie Hahn
12-28-2018, 09:49 AM
Hi,

Would welcome a call to talk over any questions you may have.

Charlie Hahn
410-627-4726
hahnmachineworks.com

bobanderson
12-28-2018, 11:10 AM
Contact Larry Flees, ljflees@hotmail.com or by phone (I'll PM his number as soon as I finish typing this).
He does the "Sam Dobbin" gas check plate and o ring seal conversion that is the superior method of ensuring your Sharps stays running while shooting long strings at the range.

As far as loading and shooting your Sharps, contact Moose Moulds, amoose@moosemoulds.com or by phone (I'll PM that one too). I use their 544-480 in both of my Sharps carbines.

And lastly, Charlie Hahn makes cardboard paper tubes that glue onto the "ringtail" base of most of the Sharps bullets to hold your powder charge and make loading simple as pie. If you call him, he should be able to tell you the correct length for your bullet.