PDA

View Full Version : Why the Zouave?

Yakiman
02-18-2018, 04:37 PM
Don't get me wrong, I'm just getting started in N-SSA and am only curious. How did the Zouave get to be an approved musket? From all I read, they were never used anywhere during the Civil War. They seem to be available just about everywhere and at prices considerably less than other CW arms and that price makes them attractive to someone, like me, who is just getting into this activity. But, if I go that route then I'm equipping myself with the gun that never was. How'd it get on the list?

2kycav
02-18-2018, 07:09 PM
Very good post, but unless I am wrong, I believe there was several found on some battlefields.......please correct me if I am wrong, but surely to be an approved firearm this issue has been approached........never the less, if you desire to join ouf great organization, please don't let this deter you.........

P.Altland
02-18-2018, 08:07 PM
From a 2013 post by Southron Sr

BAck in the "Days of Yore" when the N-SSA was first starting out, the ONLY arms available were originals. Then in 1957 Val Forgett formed Navy Arms and began importing replica '51 Navy Revolvers from Italy.

About the same time, original Remington Model 1863's (what we call Zouaves today) were available for around $20.00 each in "Mint" condition. Why were they in "Mint" condition? Because the government had accempted them from the production line at Remington and then immediately sent them to warehouses where they remained for the next century.

Yes, yes, yes, there is the possibility that a few did get issued out OR maybe Reminton sold some of the overrun to the states for their militias. Unfortunately, no documentation has been found.

Flash forward to the 1950's and the ORIGINAL ZOUAVES quickly gained a reputation as superb shooters in the N-SSA.