PDA

View Full Version : TulAmmo question

ken stiles, 0526V
05-29-2017, 11:11 AM
sorry this isn't N-SSA or black powder related; but i trust you guys more than some blog or web site of which i have no historical knowledge.

anyone had any experience with TulAmmo?

Kevin Tinny
05-29-2017, 12:03 PM
Hello:

In 7.62X39, it is non-corrosive and has a mild ( soft) steel core. The case is Berdan primed and clear lacquered soft steel. I have shot hundreds of rounds through 100% U.S. parts/built Century Arms C39v2's. The ammo is acceptably accurate and no misfires arose.

TULAMMO IS NOT "SURPLUS" stuff.

Remember, for foreign gov't's to dispose of so-called "surplus" ammo, it must be CONDEMNED!
This MAY mean that stuff is wildly unpredictable. In some instances, due to miss-handling, I have seen such junk register DOUBLE the normal breech pressure because the powder granules had been fractured to 1/2 normal size. Lay a few rounds on rollers and let them revolve for three days. Kaboom!

If you value the rifle, stick with decent ammo.
Regards,
Kevin Tinny
42NY

ken stiles, 0526V
05-29-2017, 02:57 PM
kevin;

thanks for the info. i'm looking at some .30 caliber for my M1A1 and TulAmmo has by far the best price.
i've just never shot any of it.

sounds like it's worth it.

Hello:

In 7.62X39, it is non-corrosive and has a mild ( soft) steel core. The case is Berdan primed and clear lacquered soft steel. I have shot hundreds of rounds through 100% U.S. parts/built Century Arms C39v2's. The ammo is acceptably accurate and no misfires arose.

TULAMMO IS NOT "SURPLUS" stuff.

Remember, for foreign gov't's to dispose of so-called "surplus" ammo, it must be CONDEMNED!
This MAY mean that stuff is wildly unpredictable. In some instances, due to miss-handling, I have seen such junk register DOUBLE the normal breech pressure because the powder granules had been fractured to 1/2 normal size. Lay a few rounds on rollers and let them revolve for three days. Kaboom!