PDA

View Full Version : Fixer-upper CVA Zouave rifle - need advice on mainspring and replacement parts

Rock Islander
11-14-2016, 09:33 PM
I'm cleaning up up an old Connecticut Valley Arms Zouave made in Spain, mostly finish work. It's missing the front band parts and the mainspring. I did find Chiappa parts on-line from a supplier but they didn't have any idea about whether they would fit, so I'm reaching out to this forum. The local Texas skirmishers have encouraged me but if anyone would know, its N-SSA folks. Any suggestions and recommendations appreciated, is the mainspring replacement usually a simple matter? (I'm a novice at this, without any manuals or references at present, just what web searches have dredged up.)

I saw this rifle on the approved N-SSA list, I hope it makes a good shooter, at least it will be a good looking piece!

RaiderANV
11-14-2016, 10:51 PM
A picture of the backside of the lock would be helpful as there were/are two different patterns and enter al parts.
Where in Texas......I have a place outside of McKinney

l.cutler
11-15-2016, 05:03 AM
These guys bought up all of CVA's sidelock parts, could give them a try. http://www.deercreekproducts.net/

Michael Bodner
11-15-2016, 06:58 AM
Typically, the Spanish Locks do NOT accommodate a 'regular' mainspring. The pivot pin is in the 'wrong' spot. You would have to fill the hold (weld it closed) and redrill...

-Mike

Rock Islander
11-16-2016, 11:00 PM
Pat, here's a picture of the lock, you and Michael are helping prepare me for "trouble ahead", and an extended learning opportunity! Everything about this project has been a learning experience, including trying to attach this picture! If the image brings up any other recollections, I'd be grateful if you can share.4825

Mr. Butler, thanks for the tip about deer creek, they don't list Zouaves but I've got a message off to them - and you've helped me find yet another candy store on the inter webs!