PDA

View Full Version : Cheapest/easiest way to lube Minnie balls?

ChapK
03-12-2016, 03:38 AM
I am new to shooting reproduction rifled muskets and am wondering about the cheapest way to lube Minnies? Specifically for .58 cal bullets. Isn't there a push through hand press that you can use in the field? Is bore butter sufficient as a bullet lube? Thanks for all suggestions.

Harley1247
03-12-2016, 07:47 AM
I would not recommend using bore butter. It's mostly used for round ball shooting lubing the patch. It's much too thin and most likely would melt and run on a hot summer day.I use lard, beeswax and bear oil that I mix up and dip my bullets in. There are so many varieties of lubes out there. SPG is a good lube that U can melt and dip your bullets in. Northeast Traders sells lube and John is a skirmisher. Check out his website. As far as sizing I make my own dies and use a Lyman lube sizer. With my setup I can size and lube at the same time, but i dip my bullets and then size. It gives me something more to do. There are sizing dies U can purchase that screw in the top of the press that serve as a push thru sizer. Rapine did offer a bench mount sizing die setup that U could probably use in the field, however Ray is no longer in business. You may want to try Buffalo Arms, they may have them.
Hope this helps

Fred Jr
03-12-2016, 07:49 AM
Many guys use lubrsizers but they are not cheap. I use a push through die and then just dip the bullets in a pan with melted lube. As to the best lube you can get many many opinions as to that. I use one called Len's Lube and have been using it for 40 years. I have never used Bore Butter so I can not speak to that. The way we shoot necessitates an firm type of lube. There are many commercial brands available. Check the list of sutlers listed on our page.

Hope this helps,

Fred

Maillemaker
03-12-2016, 06:34 PM
Cheapest way is just to dip them in a container of melted lube.

A Lyman Lubrsizer lets you size and lube at the same time.