PDA

View Full Version : Sharps Bullets, Tubes/Cases

Michael Bodner
09-24-2015, 07:30 AM
Who can educate me about Sharps (1859 Pedersoli) ammunition?

Specifically, I have a new member and he is thinking Brass cases. I know about Charlie's tubes, but I need to work this from both ends.

Also, I understand that the bullet is different for brass verses paper tubes.

Thanks in advance!!

-Mike

Fred Jr
09-24-2015, 07:53 AM
I have no experience with the brass tubes but I can't imagine that they would be easy to use for team matches. They would have to be removed with some kind of a tool and that would take time. Now Charlie's tubes are a pain-in -the ass to make but they work extremely well. I've been using a Sharps for around 40 years and it has never shot as well as it does with these tubes. The ring tail bullet is probably the way to go. Just my humble opinion!

Fred

John Bly
09-24-2015, 08:03 AM
I don't own a Sharps and have never shot one but it seems to me that the most attractive thing about one is the fact that you never have anything to unload after firing, just keep loading and shooting. Brass tubes don't make sense to me in this regard. I hear a lot of good things about Charlie Hahn's tubes and it seems that would be a good place to start. The learning curve is probably less than rolling your own combustible paper cartridges.

Greg Ogdan 110th OVI
09-24-2015, 08:37 AM
I'm not aware of any brass cartridge that is available for the Sharps. You might do a search for "Selltube" though and come up with something.

Michael Bodner
09-24-2015, 10:31 AM
Greg,

Check out: http://www.buffaloarms.com/Percussion_Sharps_Brass_it-164313.aspx?TERM=sharps

terrydull
09-24-2015, 11:54 AM
Greg,

Check out: http://www.buffaloarms.com/Percussion_Sharps_Brass_it-164313.aspx?TERM=sharps

Boy ... wouldn't that make life EZ :) .... looks like they are made EXCLUSIVELY for the Pedersoli's tho ... including the Pedersoli Mold.

Phil Spaugy, 3475V
09-24-2015, 12:04 PM