PDA

View Full Version : Musket help

Lithuanian artillery
06-13-2015, 02:37 PM
I have a repro 1861 springfield. I have been shooting it for about 19 years and it has been dead on for both the 50 and 100yd sights. For the last two skirmishes, it has been shooting high. I mean to the extent that I have to hold on the bottom of the paper at 50yds to get me in the black. It is consistent but when you go to the team comps, it gets a little hard to hold that low consistently.

So...what happened? I size the ball at .573 nothing changed there. No change in the lube. No change in the powder or caps. I started shooting Fred's Lead, I had been shooting plumbers lead etc. Probably Fred's is a little purer, but I can't believe that could be the problem.

The one clue I have is the musket seems to foul more often than before. It gets scratchy when it goes down about a third of the way. Never did before.

I looked down the barrel with a light, and do not see anything unusual. I tried to clean it with a de-leading patch and saw nothing on it.

Any ideas before I change the sights?

Thanks
Andy

ian45662
06-13-2015, 02:58 PM
When was the last time you had the crown re done?

Rob FreemanWBR
06-13-2015, 09:20 PM
Andy,

No change in powder?

Are you using a new/different powder lot?

Although you may still be shooting the same manufacturer & grain, powders do in fact vary from lot to lot and may very well be changing the grouping of your piece, esp. if you've bought new powder...

That's why some folks I know buy up to two kegs of powder from the same lot, so they'll have consistent powder charges for as long as that much powder will last 'em.

Just a though/possibility.

bobanderson
06-14-2015, 06:44 AM