Thread: What do you do to prevent primer rust?

Region:
    Northeast- New York

What do you do to prevent primer rust?

I'm new to using Musket primers and cleaning up after them. (Using CCI's at present) They leave a nice black layer of soot on the barrel and bolster which takes a lot of work to clean off and I've been fighting surface rust to boot with PB Blaster, WD40 and the like and the it keeps reappearing. I thought these primers were suppose to be non-corrosive. I'm going to clean it up yet again and slather it in RIG. Other than that I need some experienced advice.

Region:
    Middle Atlantic - New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey
    NJCOP,

After a Shooting Session at the range, Match, etc. I clean my musket, carbine, etc. with warm to hot water and dish soap. I use an old toothbrush to clean the nipple bolster area, and other nooks and cranies in the breech/tang area, lifts the dirt and carbon right up, then I dry, and wipe on gun oil. Have had no problem doing it this way for 36 years. Not experiencing any rust afterwards. I don't know what the composition mixture is in the CCI caps, but for this day and age I would assume it is non-corrosive. I use the RWS Dynamit Nobel wingless caps, and so far, have never had a problem with them. Hopes this helps.
    Francis J. Miller Jr. (Herb)
    Lancaster Fencibles / 79th PVI
    Middle Atlantic Region
    153-MA - 2601V
    Middle Atlantic Region Provost Marshal
    N-SSA National Provost Guard

Region:
    Northeast- New York
    Thank you much. I'll try the soap. Ive been using a Nitro solvent and it doesn't work all that well.

Region:
    NJCOP,

Forgot to mention that after using the water/soap solution, rinse the gun with clean warm to hot water then dry. I clean the whole gun this way, inside and out.
    Francis J. Miller Jr. (Herb)
    Lancaster Fencibles / 79th PVI
    Middle Atlantic Region
    153-MA - 2601V
    Middle Atlantic Region Provost Marshal
    N-SSA National Provost Guard

Team: